Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972

On May 6, 2020 the U.S. Department of Education released its final rule under Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in educational programs or activities receiving federal financial assistance.  The rule can be found at this website:  https://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/docs/titleix-regs-unofficial.pdf

Though these regulations were released on May 6, the rule takes effect on August 14, 2020.  To ensure compliance by that deadline, Dartmouth's leadership team will be carefully reviewing the final rule, which significantly changes the definition and scope of prohibited conduct and the grievance process that educational institutions must use to investigate and resolve complaints of sexual harassment and violence.  While Dartmouth's existing sexual misconduct policy and resolution processes comply with Title IX, Dartmouth is required to make any necessary amendments to fulfill the requirements of today's final rule.  In accordance with our policy, Dartmouth students and employees will receive notice of those proposed amendments and the opportunity to comment before the amendments are adopted and published on the Title IX Office's web site.

Dartmouth remains committed to creating a more welcoming, inclusive, and equitable environment for all Dartmouth students, faculty, and staff, through a consistent, reliable, and impartial institutional response to sexual misconduct complaints. 

Please note that any reports referred for informal or formal resolution before August 14, 2020 will continue to be resolved under our current policy and procedures, found here.

The Title IX Office continues to be available to address your questions about the sexual misconduct policy or resolution processes at 603-646-0922 or titleix@dartmouth.edu.  All staff are available via phone, email, and Zoom during regular business hours.

Kristi Clemens

Title IX Coordinator and Acting Senior Director of Institutional Diversity and Equity